Painting the interior of the coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Jessie_Jazz, Aug 6, 2010.

1. Jessie_Jazz

Jessie_Jazz Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2010
    Suffolk UK
    Possibly a silly question; can, or should I paint the inside of my chicken coop?
    I want it to be protected from damp and rot etc but also want it to be safe for the chickens.
    Am a complete newbie so would really appreciate any advice (about all aspects of coop building)

Thanks

2. Amyable

Amyable Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2008
    Greenleaf, WI
    [​IMG]
    I painted the inside of mine (floor included) white - it really brightened it up in there, and will help the wood last longer. Just make sure it's all dry before adding the chooks. If you're really concerned, you could use a low-VOC paint.

3. Brook

Brook New Egg

Aug 4, 2009
    If you want to plant your run, you will probably have to section it off, or keep the hens out while the plants mature a bit or they will just scratch them all up.

For damp, high traffic areas (many chicken feet) you may wish to try planting creeping jenny. It is a perennial, grows fast, good in moist environments, takes foot traffic well and it is also edible for humans (and chickens)

EDIT: OK never mind... too early I guess, I read "planting" not "painting" LOL, going to go find my glasses now hehehe [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  4. Jessie_Jazz

Jessie_Jazz Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2010
    Suffolk UK
    Awesome thanks! Will they scratch the floor or peck at the inside of the coop?
    The outside aint so much of a problem as I am making a move-able tractor-type thing.
    (I hope it will be move-able - in the plan it looks MASSIVE)

5. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Not a silly question at all!