1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Paranoid Faverolle

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Lovemy3hens, Dec 17, 2010.

1. Lovemy3hens

Lovemy3hens Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2010
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Hello all,

I'm still new to keeping chickens and have a 3 month old Faverolle. She is at the bottom of the pecking order which I read is quite common with the breed. But mine seems so flighty and standoffish. She's almost afraid of her own shadow and everything seems to bother her. She'll scream for no apparent reason when she's out in the run and when held she'll scream her head off until she eventually calms down in a few mins. Is this normal for this breed? Will she calm down as she gets older?

2. Cloverleaf Farm

Cloverleaf Farm Bearded Birds are Best

Sep 16, 2008
    Levan, UT
    Quote:I (as well as many other Fav breeders) have found that they can be kind of skitsy when they are young, but tend to calm down once they start laying, or get close to it. Of course, there is always the exception...

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Quote:My three SFs, now nearly 7 months old were little freaks when they were younger. I had already decided that I didn't want to have any more of that breed. One even took a chunk outta DH's hand when he picked her up to help her out of a tight spot she'd found herself in. I thought it was hilarious [​IMG] DH did not. [​IMG] He still has a name-we-don't-use-on-BYC for those three SFs.
    When they started laying, a change came over these girls. They are now sweethearts. Still the loudest birds in the barnyard and only one appreciates being picked up, but they have calmed down considerably and always want to around me when I'm out. Just not picked up.