Pasture raising poultry on raw land

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hellowalls, Dec 6, 2013.

1. hellowalls

hellowalls New Egg

Dec 6, 2013
    Hey everyone! Newbie here. I live in TN and work as a whole animal butcher. I am buying a plot of land and was thinking about raising ducks and pheasant for the butcher shop and some restaurants. I wa wondering if anyone has experience raising on raw land or property away from the homestead. I have a few questions/concerns and was hoping some experts might weigh in:

Is it doable?
    Is it possible?
    Has anyone had success?
    Would I have to be out at the property everyday?
    Could I use trailers as a successful method?
    What are your general opinions on this?

Thanks for your time guys and gals and enjoy your Friday/weekend!

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    I think it is probably doable but - I wouldn't personally want to do it as I would spend the whole time worrying about predators and water freezing in winter and lack of shade in summer, etc. Mine do have the ability to range quite a few acres - and they make good use of it and graze a lot - but I like having them close enough I can see them and run down and check on them several times throughout the day.

3. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
    Welcome to BYC! x2 on the above advice, good luck to you.

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio