Pasty Butt

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by crystal195655, Jan 31, 2012.

1. crystal195655

crystal195655 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Glenoma, WA
    I am new to raising chickens, I have 9 baby chicks that I am guessing were hatched on the 27th or so. received them from McM...all were in pretty good shape, but I lost one this afternoon....she looked good earlier in the day other than she had a little pasty butt....I cleaned her bum off and couple hours later I went out to check on them and she was dead. My question is what happens if the pasty butt is left alone or not caught soon enough, will they die? Also, I noticed a couple others have just a small amount on their bum, should it be cleaned off right away? HELP!!!! I don't want to lose any more chicks.

2. P'Fowls

P'Fowls Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2011
    Dahlonega, Ga
    Yes it needs to be cleaned off asap. They will die. I have to constantly check ours. Silkies are one of the worst ones I have to get pasty butts. I know this sounds mean, but when they get pasty butts, take a tissue and grab the poo, pull hard and try to pull the fur out. If you do that they will not get matted up again. It doesnt hurt them. It just stings a second, but they wont be like that anymore until they get older. The first couple of weeks are the most crucial on keeping them clean and not handling them but the minimum needed to clean them. Its ok if they have a little below their hole in their fur, just make sure the hole is clear. By doing the above that will take care of the problem.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

I hold the chick's bum under a stream of running water, tepid, not hot or cold. Within a few seconds, I crumble the dampened poop off. Pat dry.
    I also apply some vasoline or olive oil on it. It seems to help future sticking. If dried poop dries their vent shut, yes, it can be terminal.