Patiently waiting for eggs!

mychickenpeeps

Hatching
Oct 9, 2016
Hello, everyone. I am new to raising and caring for backyard chickens. Started about 4 months ago with 4 Rhode Island Red hens, and 1 not planned on until later developed,(smile) "rooster"(I was told they were all hens, yeah). One hen can from a hatchery and the others were given to me by a friend who raised the others as baby chics from on of her chicken family. They are going on 5 months old.
I have been doing everything to include cleaning their coop everyday, feeding them 5 grain laying pellets, scratch food, oyster shells and grit, clean fresh water everyday, 2 holistic snack meals of fresh greens, tomatoes, yogurt, veggies and fruits of all sorts, live an freeze dried meal-worms, fresh cut grass, gym set to perch and fly on, wood ash for bathing in, brought two fake ceramic eggs and put them in the nesting boxes and even walking around the coop area talking like a chicken!!..lol
No eggs yet. Can anyone with more experiences tell me if I am doing anything wrong. Help!!

Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! Congratulations on getting your new chicken adventures started :clap
It sound like you are a doing fantastic job at caring for your birds. The learning Center is a great place to check out if you have not already done so. Please do pop by ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Wishing you the very best of luck for the future and enjoy your time here on BYC :frow

welcome-byc.gif

Chickens will begin to lay whenever their bodies tell them they should (with all the right conditions). Also, depending on where you are (northern or southern hemisphere), they may not lay for a little while more. It's becoming fall and winter, which mean less daylight hours, which a chicken needs in order to lay eggs. The earliest a hen of mine has ever begun to lay was at 5 months old, but each breed and individual chicken can range from 4 months to upwards of 7 months.