1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pea Gravel

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by stoner0208, Apr 8, 2015.

1. stoner0208

stoner0208 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2015
    LONDON
    Hi all
    I'm new to chicken keeping and need some advice I have 8 hens and at the moment in their run its just mud well it was grass ha ha but i was thinking about putting some pea gravel down in there
    Only half of the run has a roof so the bit that's not covered gets a bit water logged when we have heavy rain

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Pea gravel might be a bit hard on the chickens feet, legs and pads. When they scratch through this gravel, it could tear up their pads or give them bumblefoot. I have never used it as a covering. You might try sand in your run. Sand stays fairly dry when wet, it reples flies, absorbs smells and works really well if you hose it down in the summer time to keep the birds cool. Cool feet mean cool birds!

Here is a thread on using sand if you would like more information on it....https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/444759/got-sand-you-should

You can also ask around in our Coop and Run Construction forums for more help with a wet run....https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/9/coop-run-design-construction-maintenance

Good luck! Make yourself at home here and feel free to ask around the forums with any questions you may have. welcome to our flock!

1 person likes this.
  3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Water Under the Bridge Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana