Peas are laying and I am clueless

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by missevie, Jan 23, 2011.

1. missevie

missevie Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2010
    Dallas
    The last 2 weeks here have been horrible weather wise. Wet and cold. So I have just been going in the pen, filling water and food bowls and passing out treats then going back inside. I, of course, do my once over on the pen to make sure everything is ok. Well this morning was mild and when I was filling up the feed bowls, something told me to look behind the log pile where I had stashed some hay for the winter. I found 6 eggs. Three looked almost like chicken eggs, but to large cause I only have one bantam hen, and the other three looked like snake/turkey eggs. They were much larger, and I know they are not snake eggs because I used to breed snakes.lol.

I collected all of them, cleaned them, and put them in my incubator at 100d. Did I do everything right? This is my first time and I am also aware that these could just be infertile eggs.

2. john in wa

john in wa Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2009
    No first thing you should of done is packed them in a prepaid box and mailed them to me. [​IMG]

3. missevie

Oct 15, 2010
    Dallas
    HAHA, I am more than willing to swap eggs with someone once I know for sure that everything I'm doing is right. Just got to get the hang of it first. That was a good one though.lol

My real experience with eggs is with exotics, cockatoos, rosellas, burks, those kinds. And of course reptiles. This is my first time with peafowl. Good thing is I know if they are good they had to have come from my green male and most likely my green split pied female because she is the oldest. The others are yearlings. Tomorrow I am going to the feedstore for oyster shell

4. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight