1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

pedigree - proof of heritage

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by John-1948, Nov 13, 2013.

1. I am new to this streamlined poultry stuff. Now, am developing a keen interest in the
    magnificent breeds, cross breeds and hybrids you guys are showing !!!!
    I think chickens, just by themselves alone, are a Gift from the Gods.

my question is this ........... with dogs, cats, cows, horses, etc etc etc
    you get papers with them to prove heritage, parentage, etc.

I see so many advertisements of VERY RARE - VERY VERY RARE - GLOBAL RARITY
    from GreenFire Farm, Aunt Rosie's Barnyard, etc etc etc .....
    I know that buying from an online source is like buying a used car .... you get what you pay for.
    So, without actual pedigree documentation, how can one tell how pure the strain is ??

I often see 6 Legbar eggs for $20.00 then 6 for $90.00 and both say from GreenFire line.
    I guess it is the same as us humans saying we are from the Adam & Eve line ???

sooooooooooooooooo what is one to do ???

any pointers into the right direction will be most appreciated !!

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

A chicken doesn't come with papers, as a dog would. Chickens are judged, at poultry shows. They are judged according the American Poultry Association's Standard of Perfection. High quality, top strains of breeds, in the hands of a skillful breeder sometimes represent decades of careful breeding.

The internet has created a virtual world where poultry and hatching eggs are sold everywhere. The odds are great that not everything is as it would appear to be. Buyer beware.