peeping/pipping????---Help!

AmynChad

In the Brooder
10 Years
Feb 6, 2009
Menlo, GA
This is my first hatching attempt ever. I have a Hovabator still air with lots of eggs in it and we are on day 24. The bator in in my room and I swore I heard a peep early this morning and I jumped up and grabbed a flashlight--nothing. I convinced myself that it came from outside and went on. THEN.... I was looking at them a few minutes ago, debating on giving up, breaking them open to see how far we got, etc., and I know I heard a peep! I haven't heard any pecking, which is what I thought "pipping" was. Can they make noise still in the shell, or am I just delusional? Any thoughts on what I should do?

I am not a professional so as to youre mental status I cannot comment.
ya.gif
But I can say eggs peep or the chicks in them do so I would give them another 24-48 hours then check for movement or what not by candleing them or something.

OK thanks. So at least there's hope right? I just need to figure out which ones the peeping is coming from and weed out the dead ones because of bad gases or something right?

From what I have read (I am new to this also) it is not a good idea to open bator during hatch (due to temp & humidity issues) unless you have to. I have read that lower temps can lead to a later hatch, maybe that is what is going on???
idunno.gif
If it were me I think I would leave them for another day and see what happens, unless something is starting to smell.
sickbyc.gif
Look through window and see if any of the eggs have any x shape cracks where chick is starting to break out. Also watch for movement of the egg itself. I watched some hatch on a web cam and boy did they roll around.
smile.png
Good luck and I hope they hatch soon!
fl.gif

if you have peeping going on leave the bator shut and wait! That is a good sign that they are ok. Don't try to take any out they will be fine sitting in there.