1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pekin Ducks .....born in March & April......no eggs???

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by bargain, Dec 29, 2009.

1. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    Should I expect any this winter or should I just wait until the Spring?

This is my first time with ducks of any kind....so I'm learning......

I already learned that I had more boys than I thought [​IMG]

I have 6 girls and 5 boys..... Should I move a few of the boys out of the pen?

I don't do artifical lighting on them...

They are in a large fenced in area and don't think they are hiding eggs, unless at the bottom of their hand dug pool..... Hope not there!

Thanks and have a blessed day!

Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  2. LilDucky85

LilDucky85 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2009
    Northern, Illinois
    This is my first time owning any kind of poultry as well, and I have Pekins that were born in April too. They actually started hatching early, on Easter day! I live in Illinois and its very cold and snowy here right now. Its been anywhere from 30 degrees to below zero for the past month so I added a red heat lamp to their coop. It doesn't give off that much heat but it keeps the bottom of the coop from freezing. Last weekend, on the 19th I came home from a weekend trip to find two eggs in the coop!! You can imagine how surprised I was to find them since I didn't expect any until Spring- if ever! Every day I have gotten 2 eggs, I'm pretty sure out of my 6 ducks I only have 2 girls! I posted a thread asking why they started laying in the middle of winter and someone said ducks, and I think Chickens, need at least 14 hours of light to lay. Another person said that ducks lay year round.

3. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens