Pekin Ducks Reveiws?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Echo5, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Echo5

Echo5 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2012
    Hi there,

Im a newbie and am planning to get 2 Pekin Ducks to go with 3 Bantam Chickens(females), I'd be getting them as chicks and ducklings. Should I just get 2 Female Pekins, or that and 1 male. Will the male mate with my banties or be a distruction of peace amoung the others? I would like to have ducklings when they get older but not sure if getting a male right away is bad or if its actually better because they grow up together... A friend has ducks so would it be smart to just borrow a male for a while to get ducklings or is that a bad idea? I dont have too much space in housing so dont want too many birds. I have enough for about 6 full grown birds.

Thanks!

2. Melinda35

Melinda35 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2010
    Texas
    I have Pekin ducks that I got two years ago with my first order of chicks. I would get one male and one female when you get your chicks and have them all grow up together. Ducks are very messy. My ducks sleep in the coop with the chickens. I have two small tubs outside the coop for them to splash around in. They eat the chicken food like crazy! They also love treats just like the chickens. Mine are not very friendly to me, as in I can't hold them, but they are so fun to watch. They had been good layers until the male duck was killed. I have not gotten an egg since! Not sure why. I would not think they need the male to lay an egg but I have not researched this either.

1 person likes this.
  3. Echo5

Echo5 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2012