Pekin Limping and Squealing

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by duckmommy93, Jan 5, 2017.

1. duckmommy93

duckmommy93 New Egg

Jan 5, 2017
    I have a pekin duckling a little over a week old. He just started experiencing a leg issue. His left leg is bothering him because he rarely uses it now and hops on the other leg. He may use it if he gets hungry and/or thirsty enough to get to the food and water. I tried placing him in a lukewarm bath to relax his muscles and I've just bought some vitamins so that he can get the niacin he needs. Just this morning he started squealing and was stationary as though he didn't recognize his surroundings. He hasn't drank or ate in the past few hours. What should I do? This is my first time owning a duck and he is the sweetest thing. I couldn't see myself without him.

2. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

Have you been feeding him any Grit?......Possible he does need the niacin.....Some times though Ducklings stop thriving at that age also.......Hmmmm...I wish I could give you a better answer.....

Try @Amiga She could help you.......

Cheers!

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Can you describe the details of how your are raising him ? Not trying to make you feel bad, but the details can really matter.

For example -

Is he an only duck?
    What do you feed?
    Is food with water available 24/7?
    Bedding?
    Temperature?
    Treats?
    Tiny amounts of chick grit being offered?

All those kinds of things

@duckmommy93

4. duckmommy93

duckmommy93 New Egg

Jan 5, 2017
    Yes,

There are two other ducklings - Mallard.
    I feed them Organic Non GMO/ Non -Medicated Chick Starter Crumbles
    Food and Water is always available 24/7
    They are in a very large plastic tote, lined with pine chips and paper towel
    Temperature is between 85-90 degrees now
    No treats as of yet
    And yes chick grit still added to their meals

@Amiga