Pennsylvania newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Farmettehopeful, Mar 1, 2012.

1. Farmettehopeful

Farmettehopeful Out Of The Brooder

Feb 23, 2012
    Johnstown, PA
    Hello all! I am new to chickens (as an adult anyhow) and when I first started researching online, the majority of my info came from BYC so I decided to join so I can be prepared! I have already been in touch with a local through this site who was nice enough to let me go in on his chicks order so within the next couple of weeks I will have 3 barred rock babies! I am very excited, so excited that I went to my local TSC today (to get my shavings and adult waterer) and their chicks came in (RIR and white Leghorn mix I believe) but they wouldn't let me get 3 :-( Minimum was 6. Since they only had 10, I tried the "if someone comes in and gets 7 of them, you will only have 3 left, then what?" I was still told no lol. I live in an area where you can only have 6 if you have under 3 acres so couldn't get more :-( I have my brooder ready, coop plans in hand, and a member to what I now feel is a very important website!!! Thanks to all that have shared their experiences to help all of us that don't have any!!!

2. Silkie Chick

Silkie Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG]Welcome to BYC! We got a couple from TSC Yesterday (silkie bantams) and nine ducklings. Does your ordinance say 6 hens or 6 chickens. Because a hen is a chicken of the speices 'gallus domesticus' and they have to be a year or older to be considered a hen. Younger than that they are a pullet (assuming it is female, otherwise it is a cockerel). So could you get a couple babies and keep the ones you want, and then sell the others when they get older?

3. Farmettehopeful

Feb 23, 2012
    Johnstown, PA