1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pennsylvania, York County, help me change zoning to allow backyard hens!!

Discussion in 'Local Chicken Laws & Ordinances (and how to change' started by EarthyMomma, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Hi, My name is Erin and I am a resident in New Freedom Borough, in southern York County, PA. I have 2 hens, and was under the impression that since chickens, specifically, where defined as small animals, that I was allowed to have them on my 1/3 acre lot.

To not get too wordy here, I am at the point now where I am about to go in front of the Planning Commission (Monday, Oct 28) to present a proposal to allow hens on properties less than 1 acre, with the reasonable restrictions that seem to have worked in other similar situations.

I just started a Facebook group call Backyard Chickens in New Freedom Borough. Please join! Regardless of your physical location, we need support and advice from folks who have made these strides! Please let me know if it will not let you request to join and I will see what I can do to change it!

The whole of our story is on that page but if you are curious and not on Facebook, I am happy to give the details on this forum! Please chicken lovers! Help the cause! My girls only have until November 7th before they have to leave us...maybe forever

Thank you all!!
    Peace, Light, and Hens!
    ~Erin...aka EarthyMomma

2. george girls

george girls New Egg

Oct 23, 2013
    middletown township pa
    same problem in langhorne...agghhh!! how do we change the laws?

The pennsylvania right to farm act states ....
    Pennsylvania Right to Farm Act (3 PA. STAT . §§ 951-957) (Current as of July 2009)
    § 951. Policy

It is the declared policy of the Commonwealth to conserve and protect and encourage the development and