People calcium for chooks?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by UlrikeDG, Oct 7, 2012.

1. UlrikeDG

UlrikeDG Out Of The Brooder

Feb 21, 2011
    I bought a big thing of Nature's Plus Chewable Calcium for my kids, and then found out my kids don't like it! Can chickens eat it? Any concerns about amount?

It contains:

100 IU Vitamin D (as ergocalciferol)
    500 mg Calcium (as lactate, aspartate, gluconate, carbonate)
    250 mg Magnesium (as gluconate, aspartate, hydroxide)
    Fructose, acacia gum, stearic acid, silica, malted milk, nonfat milk, vanilla and whey.

2. CluckyCharms

CluckyCharms Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm brand new to rearing/raising chickens...so please don't go by what I say alone (wait for other responses from people more qualified than I am)

Since the vitamins are 'man made' for human consumption for the regulation of vitamin and nutrient intake, and are not specifically made for chickens in regard to the amount and measurement for their species, I would say don't give it to them.

From what I read, in a chicken that is allowed to free range and feed off their surroundings, Vitamin D supplements should not be administered. They naturally absorb the required amount of Vitamin D when allowed to range. If your chickens aren't free-rangers and spend alot of time in a coop or out of the sun in other manners, Vitamin D is a very good supplement for them when given in the right dosage.

Magnesium and Calcium are good supplements for a chicken who is laying eggs, as both of these help to keep the eggshells structurally stable and well formed. However, oyster shells have the safest calcium content for chickens and it should given freely, not mixed in their feed. They should be provided with a separate container for their oyster shells, as their bodies will direct them to eat it when needed. Mixing it in their food can cause them to consume more calcium than they need.