Perching on laying boxes

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by blamonty, May 26, 2010.

1. blamonty

blamonty New Egg

May 26, 2010
    So I need some help! I am new to raising chickens and have 12, 11 week olds. They are loving thier coop and run and seem to have what they need. I built laying boxes and set them on the wall of the coop about three feet up. There are four boxes on the bottom and four on the top. I recently (yesterday) built ramps for the chickens to get up to the boxes for when they start laying. They immeduately started using them to roost in. Pooping in and on them. I am wondering if I want them to be doing this? And if not, what do you do to change that. Thanks for the help!

2. NancyinAlaska

NancyinAlaska Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2009
    Willow Alaska
    I'm not an authority but.....................they aren't old enough to start laying, so they really don't need the nesting boxes yet. As far as a ramp to get to them goes, I don't think they would need it, chickens do fly. Do you have any roosts or perches? if not I'd sure make a couple. Good luck!

3. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

NO!! lol...you do NOT want them roosting there...no poopy nest boxes! Are their roosts higher than the nest boxes? Chickens typically will go for the highest place available. And how's space for your coop? You could easily get by with 4 boxes for 12 birds, so you may think about getting rid of 4 nests, unless they're all built in together.
    Either way, I would temporarily cover the openings with chicken wire so that they cannot perch there. I do use a perch for my elevated nest boxes (lower than the roost of course). So do you have ladders up to each nest box on top??? An attached perch spanning all four would take up less space if so.

4. 4theloveofhens

4theloveofhens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2010