Permanent coop gets no sun!!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by sheenasmom1, Oct 14, 2013.

1. sheenasmom1

sheenasmom1 New Egg

Jul 16, 2013
    Hi. This is my first time posting to the group so bear with me. My husband was trying to build me a nice coup. Not a huge size to start but very secure. He built it on the side of our garage. Problem is he didn't take into account that end of the garage never gets any sun because of the neighbors trees! The hens should have been laying by now and maybe they will soon. The head of the group is doing the squat when I go to pet her. So I'm hoping. They are RIR and Sextons I believe. Three of each. I love them to death and try to spoil them rotten. Always researching to find out more about them and what's best for them. I haven't yet found information on a coop that never gets direct sunlight! My husband has been furloughed with the shut down so I am trying to find a really cheap way and see if I can't use something around here to make a portable run for them so they can be in the sun some during the day. Until then, can anyone tell me if them not getting direct sunlight would cause them to delay laying? They are about 6 1/2 months old now. They are fed twice a day, always have fresh water and I clean their coop almost daily. Lol. I put a warming light out in the part of their coop that is not boxed in and I turn it on at 530 am now because it's getting colder and the day light hours shorter. I know I have a lot to learn but I am always trying my best to please my girls and see they have what they need. Can anyone advise on the no direct sunlight issue? Thanks

2. ailurophile23

ailurophile23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 21, 2010
    VA