Permethrin

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by luvchicks8, Jul 27, 2010.

1. luvchicks8

luvchicks8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2009
    new Hampshire
    I just dusted my chickens with this, it is my first time anyone else use this? Also should I let them out after or keep them in? I have told my kids not to handle them at all.

2. MotherJean

MotherJean Chillin' With My Peeps

Permethrin should work fine. Turn them loose to go about their business. You and your children are not at risk with chicken lice - they only like chickens. Mites, however, are another matter. Have you diagnosed what it is you are treating? Check this link for really good info with photos to help identify the bug and how to treat. http://ucanr.org/freepubs/docs/8162.pdf

It
    is very important that you re-dust all your birds within 10 days so that you kill any newly hatched bugs before they can mature and lay more eggs.

3. luvchicks8

Jul 1, 2009
    new Hampshire
    I am treating lice

4. MotherJean

MotherJean Chillin' With My Peeps

I know it's small comfort, but lice are actually easier to get rid of than mites. Lice don't hide in the cracks and crevices of your coop so the most you'll have to do (besides dusting each bird) is clean out the coop, put in fresh litter, and sprinkle some of the permethrin in the litter, nesting boxes, and dust bath areas of their run. And, thankfully, you and your children aren't at risk of lice infestation from the chickens.

Just make sure to re-dust your birds within 10 days and replace the litter again. Usually two treatments are adequate, but to be sure you have everything killed, recheck you birds about 7 days later for any live bugs. BTW - those egg (nit) clusters on the feathers will remain until the feathers are lost during molt. They are not a sign that the permethrin didn't work and your birds still have lice.

5. luvchicks8

Jul 1, 2009
    new Hampshire