Pheasants just started laying! What should I expect?

Discussion in 'Pheasants and Partridge (Chukar)' started by Lazuli, Mar 30, 2015.

1. Lazuli

Lazuli New Egg

Mar 29, 2015
    Northern California
    My year old ring neck pheasants just started laying a few days ago. I have 7 hens and 2 roosters, one rooster is separated though. The hens made two nests and I have also found a few eggs out in their run and in random places in the coop. A dozen eggs have been laid so far. I have a few questions as this is my first time dealing with pheasants during breeding season.

1. Should I collect the randomly laid eggs and add them to their nests or just leave them?
    2. Can I expect the hens to be broody or should I be looking into getting an incubator?
    3. If the hens do decide to sit, should I remove the male when it gets close to hatch date or will he not bother the chicks?
    4. Is it best to keep my hen/rooster ratio at 7:1 or would it be okay to split the hens so the other rooster isn't so lonely? Or could I switch the rooster out every other week, so they each get a chance with the ladies?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. BobDBirdDog

BobDBirdDog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2014
    Tennessee

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  3. BobDBirdDog

Jun 8, 2014
    Tennessee
    Update, I just read that a Roo will help in the rearing of the chicks, so that might help answer the question about removing the rooster after they hatch.

http://www.gbwf.org/pheasants/phasianus_colchicus.html

Never hurts to keep researching that which we think we already know.

4. Lazuli

Lazuli New Egg

Mar 29, 2015
    Northern California