Picked up new hens today

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by davekrista, Jul 12, 2010.

1. davekrista

davekrista Songster

Jun 9, 2010
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ok so we picked up new hens today. 6 RIR. We got them off craigslist, and the lady we got them from said she didn't know the age, but thought they were a year or 2 old..... I'm new to chickens and have 6 younger ones about 3 months old. But to me, it looks like all 6 of the RIR, have weird looking beaks, almost like they were all clipped. Is this something that people do for some reason or another? Will the beaks grow back? They even eat a differently than the ones that I already have, so I'm not sure how much they are actually getting in their mouth because it goes everywhere. I kind of feel bad like they aren't eating all they should... When we put them in the coop, all 6 went straight for the food and ate for a long time. They were starving, but I never did see them drink, so tomorrow I will have to see how that works for them..... Is there anything I can do to help them with their beaks? Or is this normal for RI Reds? I'm just so confused as to why their beaks would like like they were all clipped....

Any help and advice would be appreciated.... Sorry if this is posted in the wrong section, I wasn't sure where to put it...
    Krista

2. The beaks probably were clipped. People do this if they have problems with pecking. Pecking is usually a sign of boredom such as being in too close of quarters. Many battery houses will do this to the hens because they are crammed into cages where they cannot hardly move. There is not a lot you can do to help them. If they seem to be having trouble eating then the beaks were probably trimmed too far back to be able to help them. The beak does grow to some extent but if they used an electric catarizing debeaker then they will not grow back.