Pics of my broody girls

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by silkhope, Aug 8, 2007.

1. silkhope

silkhope Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2007
    Pittsboro, NC
    I don't know where else to post this but I just wanted to share pics of my determined girls. They're hot as hades and I have a fan pointed their direction for a constant breeze (103 degrees here today) and I mist constantly when I get home. Any other suggestions to keep them cool?? I tried to give them new larger boxes before this all started but they wouldn't take to them!! They kept rolling their eggs out and laying them on the ground!! So I gave these boxes back...

They have 11 eggs between the three of them. The bystander hangs out almost all the time, but it could be due to the fan too [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here's the impatient father... he hangs out in their boxes as well. I'm sure he's lonely with only one hen to court.

[​IMG]

Thanks for letting me share!! I'm new to this whole broody thing, so it's very exciting!!

Ashley

2. silkhope

Apr 30, 2007
    Pittsboro, NC
    Soooo.... do no comments mean I'm doing something wrong with these girls and no one wants to say??? [​IMG]

3. dragonlili

dragonlili Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2007
    N Middle TN
    Congratulations! I really wish I had a broody hen (now that I've said that, all will go broody next year!) Looks like you're doing everything right and doing your best to keep them cool.
    Good luck! [​IMG]

4. Southern28Chick

Southern28Chick Flew The Coop

Apr 16, 2007
    Three in a row!!!! [​IMG] They look so cute sitting there.

Don't worry about no responses in the middle of the day, most people are at work and some don't have online access at work. I'm always online because I sit at home all day online. I tell DH it's because I'm running my business. [​IMG]

5. FamilyOfChickens

FamilyOfChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2007
    Northwest Indiana
    Lovely birds! Good luck.