PICTURE OF MY BROODER

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickedydoodaa, Feb 25, 2009.

1. chickedydoodaa

chickedydoodaa Taking a break

Feb 8, 2009
    Philadelphia PA
    I have a 250 watt RED heat bulb, large glass tank. I hope no one walks by my window and thinks I am an import from Amsterdam what with the red light glowing in the window...oooo err!

It is about 40 inces long and 14 wide and deep. I will keep the lamp at one end so the chicks can go to the other if too warm, I will have to test them with it. What you think?

It is a 40 gallon tank

Yes it has a top [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  2. agirly4chicks

agirly4chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2009
    Hamilton, Georgia USA
    Funny Funny. I am new to this I just got my checks last Wednesday so i can't say if this is right or wrong. Sorry [​IMG]

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

That 250 watt lamp may be too much for that small space. In that space, I'd use a 125 watt heatlamp or even less. You can raise the heatlamp up higher, thereby lowering the temp if it's over 95 degrees underneath.

4. lilbreeches

lilbreeches Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2009
    Delight, AR
    looks ok. do you have a top to it. won't be long before they are trying to fly [​IMG]

5. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Oh, yeah, they'll fly out within two weeks.

6. rockabilly7

rockabilly7 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2008
    Florida panhandle
    I think a 250 watt is way too much for a 20 gallon tank if it was a 30 then it would be diff. but the 250 on a 20g will probably sky rocket the heat I would try a 75 watt or 100 watt infrared bulb, they should sell them at any store that has reptiles. Good luck!!!
    P.S.-I also use a 20 gallon tank as my brooder [​IMG]

7. daisychick

daisychick Incubator Tetris Master Consultant

Feb 8, 2009
    Colorado