Pigeons egg

shellikirbey

Songster
Feb 17, 2016
Eldorado Springs, Mo
I bought 4 pigeons 2 weeks ago at a livestock auction here where I live and it's my first time raiseing them.i have been seeing the one that is a male I'm pretty sure chaseing after a couple of them and one he ltterly was dragging by the head a couple times.I went out yesterday evening to cover them up and there was a egg on the bottom of hutch so I put it in the nest bowl I had with sand and I've seen one of them sitting in the nest bowl but not on the egg.is she maybe wait to lay more before she sits on it.i put some hay in the cage and it looked like she may have put some in the nest bowl.i just worried she wasn't in it.does anyone know if this is normal? I wasn't expecting them to lay beings I got them so late in the year..because if she isn't gonna hatch it I want to incubate it but I would rather then to raise it tho

Last edited:
Well there has been no more eggs yet but I think she is now sitting on the egg.i just put my finger on it and it was slightly warm.should I remove the other two pigeons cause the male is doing something with another one that left a wound on its head.i don't know f the other two is male or female and they stay as high as they can all the time so I'm thinking male is after them..I'm thinking male.ive only seen the female on the egg

Last edited:
I did see male on egg today..I did remove the other two pigeons to a separate hutch and I do think that was best for both sides..it's so funny how if anything gets close to the nest she goes to peek in to see it...lol. I'm trying to just stay away most of the time so they don't get off the egg much.s should I feed anything extra right now so they are good for feeding baby and should I candle it any or just let it be..I don't want to touch it really..

Last edited: