Pigeons need help please

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by husso, Feb 14, 2016.

1. husso

husso Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2016
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]. Hi i have 3 female and 1 male pigeon they dont want to mate im new to pigeons anyone have some advice on how i can get them to breed

2. husso

Feb 14, 2016
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] i keep all 4 in this cage i built thanks

3. jak2002003

jak2002003 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 24, 2009
    Thailand
    How long have you had them?

How old are they?

It will take them time to settle into a new home.. and they need to be at least 6 months old before they breed.

Have you got nest boxes in there and nesting material.

Just wait.. they will breed in the end if they have everything they need. The one male will probably select him mate.. but still mate with the other 2 females.. which will pair up as an all female pair.

If that happens they female pair will have 4 eggs... so you need to throw away 2 of them so they only hatch out 2 chicks as normal.. otherwise the squabs may not get enough food and die.

Good luck.

1 person likes this.
  4. Hokum Coco

Hokum Coco Overrun With Chickens

Dec 6, 2012
    New Brunswick,Canada
    In a perfect world given time things should work out well for you. They maybe just young. I personally would isolate the paring I would prefer. It could save you a lot of heartache

Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
  5. husso

Feb 14, 2016
    United Kingdom
    Bad news very bad news guys there all dead now !!!!!!

6. laughingdog

laughingdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2011
    Newport Tennessee
    I'm sorry for your loss.. What happened?

7. husso

Feb 14, 2016
    United Kingdom
    Dam fox went in and killed all 4 had to buy new ones

8. Hokum Coco

Hokum Coco Overrun With Chickens

Dec 6, 2012
    New Brunswick,Canada