pilgrim geese

Discussion in 'Geese' started by mt, Sep 17, 2012.

1. mt

mt New Egg

Mar 7, 2008
    I am looking to get a pair of Pilgrim geese next spring and wanted to get some details from someone who has them now. I live in town but zoning has the philosophy that you can have what ever you want as long as no one complains. I'm on a 1/2 acre with neighbors all around and one jerk 2 houses down so I have to give some thought to noise levels. I've read that they are calm and quite for geese but what is the definition of quite for the Pilgrim breed. I also have 8 chickens and was wondering how they would all get along together. All of my girls were breeds that were noted for being quite but my 2 Delaware are quite talkative so I really can't afford to add talkative geese to the mix.

Thanks for any feedback,
    Michelle

2. NCFF

NCFF Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2011
    This is my first year with Pilgrims. They are 50 ft from my bedroom window. They are quite at night and during most of the day.
    Their coop and day yard are next to the driveway. We live on a well traveled country road.
    Their conversation with me go something like this:
    Honks when I come out of the house.
    Honks when I leave the property.
    Honks when I come home.
    Honks when someone else drives in the driveway.
    Honks when I let them out in the morning as they run with wings a flapping hoping for a strong tail wind.
    So quite, well ... If you live that close to your neighbors and do not want to add noise I would not recommend Geese or Ducks

2 people like this.
  3. brownfoxfarm

brownfoxfarm Out Of The Brooder

Apr 6, 2012
    Rural NW Illinois
    We have pilgrims & they are quiet through the day. BUT...

They all honk when we come out to feed/water & when we walk near enough to the pen for them to think we might be coming out to feed or water them. But when they are not getting all excited they are quiet. The females are noticeably more quiet than the males, though.