Pilgrim selection

Discussion in 'Geese' started by NCFF, Mar 27, 2012.

1. NCFF

NCFF Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2011
    Hello I am new to Pilgrims and geese. I will be getting 3 or 4 pairs of geese this year from Metzer. I wanted to start to think about what I will be culling , and when I will be doing it. Any tips on what to look for in my breeders and when I can make my final selections for my Gander.

2. I'd think you'd at least have to wait until the goslings matured before you decided to cull. I'd almost wait a whole year myself -- until I saw mine go through a breeding season. Then you have final call on the male geese personalities. I wouldn't keep any that are aggressive for sure . . . . It is good to plan ahead, but most of the time culling is something you do when they are grown I'd think, and all feathered out, and their personalities were clear as well.

Be sure that you really need 3 or 4 pairs -- I would have done better to order 2 ganders and four to six females -- ganders do fight in the breeding season. If you are really looking for showing quality - get one show quality gander instead of multiple pet / production quality. Less with higher quality genetics is going to work out better for you in the long run, and for the breeding program. Hopefully then you won't have to cull any!

I loved my geese and ducks from Metzers! You should enjoy them when they come!

3. DeerRunFarm

DeerRunFarm Out Of The Brooder

Apr 10, 2012
    Hi,

I breed Pilgrims, and got my original stock from Oklahoma Heritage Poultry via McMurray Hatchery. My experience has been that you should keep two males if you are serious about breeding. Birds sometimes die, and with a rare breed, losing your only male will derail your entire breeding season-- It's not like you can hop on Craigslist and find an adult replacement for sale down the road from you!