pine shavings

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by JoePa, May 7, 2011.

1. JoePa

JoePa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2011
    Lehigh County Pa.
    I guess everyone is allowed a dumb question - I have never bought any pine shavings before so I don't know what they look like - I was wondering - can I make my own pine shavings using a wood chipper - I have one which I use to chip up branches that I cut around the place - if I chipped pine branches would I have something that I could use in my coop for poop control? - I now use the wood chips as mulch around flower beds - thanks for any information -

2. KFox

KFox Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    Pine shavings look like wood shavings. If you can google "pine shavings images" a few different images should come up.

I'm new to this, so I'm not sure if you could make your own but I wouldn't think there would be a problem doing so. Just no cedar in the mix as it's strong odor causes respiratory issues.

3. CowgirlPenny

CowgirlPenny Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2011
    South East TN
    I need to know this as well. My neighbor mills his own wood and gave us a HUGE wheel barrel full of saw dust. I was thinking this would work well for floor cover, but was not sure. I was worried it would be too fine and they would eat it.

4. jjparke

jjparke Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2008
    Boise
    I wouldn't use sawdust it might cause respiratory issues. I think you could probably make your own shavings though.

5. Mark & Nique

Mark & Nique Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010
    South Carolina
    Howdy,

We've used pine shavings for our chickens without any troubles. Pine shavings are not chips, but are very comfortable to the hens when they nest. I would be hesitant to use the sawdust mentioned above.

Hope this helps!

6. CowgirlPenny

CowgirlPenny Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2011
    South East TN