1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

PL has gone broody! (PIC HEAVY)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by plreef, Feb 2, 2009.

1. plreef

plreef Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2009
    Eastern CT
    This is my first time trying to hatch eggs. So bare with me. [​IMG] I've been reading like crazy here on BYC about hatching. Hopefully I don't make any big mistakes and compromise my hatch. [​IMG] Any feed back is more than welcome. I hope you guys tag along on my first hatching adventure.

I got myself an older Hova Bator and egg turner from a friend of mine.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The eggs came from a BYC local Henrietta23. They are a barn yard mix of hens and a Silky rooster by the name of Daddy George.[​IMG] Thanks Kristin!!

[​IMG]

I have a regular mercury thermometer and a electronic temp and humidity gage. The eggs are in the bator at about 100* F. Humidity is at 51%.

[​IMG]

My wife made a calender so our kids can check off the days till the hatch date.

[​IMG]

If any of you see me donig something wrong please speak up.

Jas![​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  2. #1California Chick

#1California Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 5, 2008
    SF Bay Area
    I LOVE the calendar!!! [​IMG] Very clever idea!!![​IMG]

3. Henrietta23

Henrietta23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2007
    Eastern CT
    Yay!!!!! You're very welcome. I'm hoping those eggs are good and fertile because the chickens won't come out of their coop with the snow on the ground. They've got to be doing something in there to keep busy!! [​IMG]

That's identical to the Hovabator I borrowed from CES and had good results with it.

Barnyard mix-love it!! My little backyard is now considered a barnyard!![​IMG]

4. SussexInSeattle

SussexInSeattle Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 6, 2008