Planting strawberries?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by australorp_breeder, Jan 13, 2010.

1. australorp_breeder

australorp_breeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2009
    California
    This is my first time planting strawberries and I hope to God I'm doing this right. My mom got a strawberry growing kit from someone a long time ago. I planted 10 strawberry seeds in a bucket with the soil they gave me. The date I had planted them was around the first day of winter. Nothing has came up yet, and the soil has stayed wet ever since I planted them. I think I kind of flooded the soil...I had to press against the soil and drain some water out of the bucket. I keep the bucket outside in the sun during the day, and bring them inside at night because of the cold. Any tips and information is greatly appreciated!

2. saddina

saddina Internally Deranged

May 2, 2009
    Desert, CA
    I grow them from started plants, and then plant the runners to keep the patch going.

3. The Chicken People

The Chicken People Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Smithville, Mo
    Do they come back every year or do you have to plant more?

4. saddina

saddina Internally Deranged

May 2, 2009
    Desert, CA
    Quote:Perrinieals, they'll send out new runners (plants) 1-2 times a season. The mother plant is good for 3 years and then declines, so you'll want to let them grow out new plants every few years.

5. australorp_breeder

Sep 29, 2009
    California
    Did I plant them at the right time? When will they have strawberries? Do they take long to grow?

6. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

7. australorp_breeder

Sep 29, 2009
    California
    Thank you for the link, debiraymond! I'd also like to hear personally from people as well if you have anymore to say about growing them.

8. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member