Plastic or metal?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by chris10sen, Jul 15, 2010.

1. chris10sen

chris10sen Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2010
    I am a way newbie. My chickies are now three weeks old and it is getting close to time to buy their big feeder and waterer. I need advice on which is better plastic or metal Any advice would be greater appreciated.

Lisa

2. Baymule

Baymule Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Northeast Texas
    I bought metal, but I have only had my Chickens 4 days. LOL I just prefer something that will last longer than I want it to.

3. carrlr

carrlr Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2010
    Southern Illinois
    IMO, I'd go with plastic. If taken care of, plastic will last about 1 million years. It can be washed/bleached numerous times without degrading.

4. Bat Cave Silkies

Bat Cave Silkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2010
    Bat Cave, NC
    For waterers and feeder, I prefer plastic...
    I like the convenience of just throwing them in the dishwasher and knowing they're being sanitized. Another reason I like the plastic one for water is that I frequently add ACV to the water and didn't think it would be a good idea to mix that with metal

We heat our chicken houses, so freezing of the waterers is not a concern.

5. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    I like both, but if you are planing on putting ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar) you will want to go with Plastic.
    Now if you live where it gets cold and you are planing heat your waterer then you may want to use Metal.

Now with that said if I had to pick just one it would be Metal. With Metal waterers you don't need to worry about them freezing, there strong, and you can heat them easy. I believe that the Metal waterers are much better.

Chris

Last edited: Jul 15, 2010
  6. spell

spell Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2010