Playground sand work as grit? Too young for treats?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by yakmama, May 17, 2010.

1. yakmama

yakmama Out Of The Brooder

Apr 29, 2010
    The South
    My babies will be 3 weeks old on Wed. Yesterday I bought some playground sand at Lowe's to give them as grit. Will this be ok? I also want to start giving them some treats (I want them used to eating table scraps). We already tried yogurt and they wanted nothing to do with it! Next I was going to try some lettuce or cabbage. What do you think? Are they too young for grit or treats?

2. 4 luv of eggs

4 luv of eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2010
    Westminster, MD
    I'm no expert but I think the sand will be too fine. I bought chick grit at the feed store. People say you can use parakeet grit but I had trouble finding it without calcium.

You can try them on some hard boiled egg yolk without having to give them grit. Just the yolk though. Mash it up and offer it to them. Mine go bonkers over it. Once you do find the grit you can give them all kinds of treats. They're not too young at all for treats.

3. Gonzo

Gonzo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2009
    Southwestern, In
    I would try a bag of river sand or commercial sand.

4. pharmchickrnmom

pharmchickrnmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2010