Please counsel me...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Lucysmom002, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Lucysmom002

Lucysmom002 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Wisconsin
    This has been bothering me for awhile and it's starting to really upset me. I don't know if I'm over reacting or what? I'm new to chickens since last year. This year I bought 25 pullets from Murray McMurray. I sold 13 of them to a farmer across the road. He set them up a nice fenced coop in the milk house of his barn. Nice nest boxes, deep shavings, lots of food, water etc.. I was happy about that.
    What I'm not happy about is they are still in there and haven't seen outside yet. I just feel bad because mine are out in the sun, in the shade, dusting in dirt, eating grass etc. on this big yard and his are still in the little coop. They were hatched May 13 so they are getting pretty big.
    He said he's going to build a coop and outdoor fenced run for them but everything takes him forever and I know it won't happen til late fall or winter.
    I know it's none of my business but I just feel bad. My babies are spoiled rotten.
    Is it horrible that they are in there or not? Some please reassure me or something?? My husband was going to offer a 10 x 20 dog kennel temporarily so they can at least SEE outside.

2. Hippie Chicks Mom

Hippie Chicks Mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Near Old Forge NY
    I know it's hard to watch, but as long as he is feeding them properly and giving them fresh bedding, I'm sure they are fine. Of course they (and you) would prefer they be outside. I hope he gets it built soon. They don't know any different at this point.

3. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    If they have enough room they are not living under bad conditions.