Please help— Chicken has an abscess/puffiness on one side of face

Chick_Maelle

Songster
Jul 1, 2020
Please help me- I have a younger serama hen who has an abscess (?) on one side of her face. She has lots of energy, no mood change or weakness (so I’m really hoping it’s not part of a disease). I recently got back from a week away but she wasn’t like that when I left, I feel bad :(. See the difference of the right/left side of her face .What is it on her face and how do I fix it?? Please help🙏

B545F582-ACD5-4616-A599-DF33BA34CC82.jpeg
3AE2528E-FB56-4125-B042-0A3F4FE70A16.jpeg

I'm NOT an expert and others may have much better advice.

If this were my hen, I'd use a sterile needle to drain it. Then clean the area, apply bacitracin, and keep a close eye on her. I would also keep her separate from the flock for a couple days.

Good luck!

I'm NOT an expert and others may have much better advice.

If this were my hen, I'd use a sterile needle to drain it. Then clean the area, apply bacitracin, and keep a close eye on her. I would also keep her separate from the flock for a couple days.

Good luck!
Thanks for your advice. How do I know if it is an abscess or just puffiness for sure? I guess puffiness would be on both sides?

Please help me- I have a younger serama hen who has an abscess (?) on one side of her face. She has lots of energy, no mood change or weakness (so I’m really hoping it’s not part of a disease). I recently got back from a week away but she wasn’t like that when I left, I feel bad :(. See the difference of the right/left side of her face .What is it on her face and how do I fix it?? Please help🙏

View attachment 3404245View attachment 3404246
What does the inside of her beak look like?
A clearer photo of the right side of her face too.

Does she have any lice or mite?

Chicken pus is solid, so very unlikely to be drawn out with a needle.
Hard to tell if this is an abscess, canker, pus/infection from respiratory disease or something else all together.