1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ColbertCoop, Mar 15, 2012.

1. ColbertCoop

ColbertCoop Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2012
    Spokane, Washington
    Two of my nine new chicks have small black plugs and I haven't been able to get them loosened with a warm washcloth, as suggested on many threads. Any other suggestions?? I'm terrified of losing any as this is my first time with chicks. Thanks so much!!

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    That's commonly called pasty butt. Some will say chicks get that when they're not warm enough, but I don't think that's truly the answer.

What you'll need to do is literally run their little butts under warm water to get that poo to soften up enough. Take a strong paper towel, like bounty, and really work on that poo to soften it up.

Then be sure to dry the chick before you put them back with the others, otherwise, the other chicks may peck at their wet bottoms, causing irritation.

Another thing that I like to do is just use some nail clippers, or very small scissors, and literally clip away the poop. Then you don't have to get them wet. But you have to be super careful doing this, so you don't clip any skin.

3. DCasper

DCasper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2012
    Benton, KY
    Baby oil should help with the irritation and with breaking up the remaining plugs. Use a cotton ball and wipe in a circular motion until the clumps come off or they are thoroughly saturated. Repeat this about every hour until the clumps are gone. It isn't the most tasteful part of raising chickens, but it is well worth the effort.

4. LaynaDon95

LaynaDon95 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2012
    Texas
    I just pull them off.