Please help! Black splotches on combs with pic.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chicks8405, Mar 29, 2012.

1. chicks8405

chicks8405 New Egg

Mar 21, 2012
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    [​IMG]
    Hi, I would be very appreciative of some advice. I have a small flock of black and blue orpington, 2 rooster and 3 hens. The boys have developed black splotches on their combs and waddles, hens are fine. I have tried researching and found lots of info on pox, however the splotches aren't really raised at all (seem part of the comb if that makes sense) and don't seem like scabs. The roos are very docile and I have never seen them peck each other. I do not imagine it could be frostbite, the lowest temp. they have been in would be between 0 and -5 c. Their behavior seems normal to me, hasn't changed in the month I have had them, so they don't seem ill. I am new to having chickens, but think I would recognize signs of stress. Here is a picture, any help from someone with a similar experience or knowledge would be great!
    My other worries with this - the hens eggs obviously we have been loving, if this is some sort of disease should we not eat them? Also I have just moved 31 chicks in the coop beside the big guys. In the same building, separated by a wall, they do not share any of the same space - but I don't want the babies to get ill.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    It's probably from the boys fighting.
    When they breed a hen the other roosters will grab their combs and try to pull them off.
    -5 is low enough for frostbite also, especially if it's humid.

3. chicks8405

chicks8405 New Egg

Mar 21, 2012
    Vancouver Island, Canada