Please help! Diarrhea & bleeding........egg stuck!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ct_sibfarms, Oct 30, 2011.

1. ct_sibfarms

ct_sibfarms New Egg

Sep 16, 2010
    I am new to chickens and not really sure what to do. I have 21 chickens w/4 roos and these are all free range chickens. I let them out early in the morning and close them up once they've all roosted. I have a domonique hen who is about 5 months old (got all the chickens as baby chickens so they have all grown up together). Yesterday I noticed she was hanging out by herself near my back door. I thought this was a little odd as they are normally in groups all over the yard. She had really runny poo on her back end and I figured she must be getting sick and made a mental note to keep an eye on her. Today she is hanging more with the other chickens but the runny poo seams to be worse and she is bleeding. Not gushing but leaving a dot of blood hear and there. Any ideas what this would be and how I can help her. I am in the house now getting things together to go and clean her up some. Should I keep her seperated? I have not witnessed the other chickens harassing her. I have worried about having to many roos but have only had one big fight between the roos so haven't had the need to do anything about it. Any advise would be helpful! Thank you!

Last edited: Oct 30, 2011
  2. ct_sibfarms

ct_sibfarms New Egg

Sep 16, 2010
    ok was just out cleaning her up and now I can see that it's a GIANT egg she's trying to push out! Do I just let her be or do I do something to help her? if this started yesterday is there another one coming behind it?
    ouch!!!

3. Noobchick

Noobchick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Creedmoor, NC