Please help! I think I have 3 roo's *loads of pics alert*

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sassypants'mama, Jun 21, 2011.

1. sassypants'mama

sassypants'mama Out Of The Brooder

Jun 21, 2011
    Washington State
    Ok, so I'm totally new at the baby chick thing. We bought our original girls when they were almost 4 months old. Our RI Red went broody when she was about 9 months and was stubborn to outlast our efforts to stop the broodiness. Thus, meaning she hatched 3 more to add to the flock - possibly. I believe you can only have 1 roo if we only have 4 mature females left (fox got my favorite Sassy Pants last week). Can you please help with sexing and figuring out breed for my birds? I'm not sure of the breed, but am pretty sure the black one is a Barred Rock. The white ones have a barred rock design type feather that is cream/white colorations. The birds are 11 weeks old.

Thanks a ton for your input!

Baby1 & 2 are the only ones that fight with each other and rarely leave the coop willingly. Baby3 follows the older girls around in the yard.

Baby1: This is the one I think made a little throaty cock-a-doodle the other day. It was slow at getting feathers in and fights with the black one.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Baby2: I'm pretty sure this is a barred rock and a roo. It gets a bite in on occasions when I'm not paying attention and he fights with baby1.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Baby3: I'm pretty positive this one is a roo too. He attacks both myself and my husband.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. tinydancer87

tinydancer87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 5, 2011
    SE Georgia
    Look like all roos to me

3. sassypants'mama

Jun 21, 2011
    Washington State
    Oh man! [​IMG] I was worried about that. I've heard horror stories about getting rid of one rooster, I'm not looking forward to having to get rid of 2 in our small community. [​IMG]

4. equinelyn

equinelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011