Please help! Is this 5 week old SLW a pullet or Roo?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MissLiberty, Mar 23, 2011.

1. MissLiberty

MissLiberty New Egg

Mar 23, 2011
    Please help! I am new to raising chickens and would greatly appreciate your opinion.

We purchased 3 Silver Laced Wyandotte chicks from a local feed store. We can only have hens as we live in a residential neighborhood. The chicks (Freedom, Liberty and Victory) are now approximately 5wks old.

I am starting to get worried about Freedom being a ROO! He/she's comb is developing different from the other 2, in that their combs are rather flat and Freedom's is raised and bumpy (see pictures).

As I am a new member, it seems I am unable to post pictures on a forum post. (very fustrating!)
    I WAS however able to post them here on my BYC page (just add a w, as I see I am also not allowed to post a url even to this very site!) :
    ww.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=83577-is-this-slw-a-pullet-or-roo (So sorry for the trouble!)

In every other way Freedom resembles 'her' sisters (to my untrained eye, anyway). 'Her' feet are the same size. Comb, wattles, and earlobes are no more red than 'her' sisters. Tail feathers appear the same, ect. She is actually the least aggressive. But that comb seems to get taller every day. I REALLY hope 'she' is NOT a roo as we cannot keep a boy. [​IMG] I am so worried, she is the friendliest of the bunch and I am already quite attached to 'her'! 'She' follows us around and even climbs up in my lap to be petted when I sit down... I am anxiously awaiting your reply with Fingers crossed. X

Thanks SO much!!!

2. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    Looking at your pictures I would say that Freedom is a pullet with a single comb. It happens from time to time. No worries.

3. akcountrygrrl

akcountrygrrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2010
    Nenana, AK
    Yep, I agree. Looks like a single combed pullet to me.

4. fshinggrl