Please help, I've lost 2 chicks already

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Luv4chickens17, Apr 18, 2017.

1. Luv4chickens17

Luv4chickens17 Just Hatched

Mar 14, 2017
    Hi there, I'm not experienced with disease in chickens so I'm hoping you can help.
    I have about 20 chicks that are one week old and are in a brooder. I hatched half of them and bought a few from a couple different breeders. Most are pretty fancy breeds and cost a bit of $$.
    I started them on a more organic non-medicated feed per the advice of one of the breeders.
    All chicks have been happy and healthy until later in the evening I noticed one was lethargic. Despite my efforts she passed that evening.
    Then yesterday everyone was happy and healthy so I thought maybe it was a fluke, she must have not been a strong chick. But I woke up to another dead this morning. No signs last night at all in that chick. It was alive and fine and then dead the next morning.
    I've been watching these babies closely and notice one of the older ones (a week or two older) seems to be showing some symptoms. Less perky, glassy eye, not eating as much, and I can hear a sound when she breaths like liquidy inside, and she has been shaking her head a lil bit as if something were on her beak.

The only things I've done have been brought in a big chunk of grass with dirt & roots attached to give them something to dig at and keep them entertained so they don't get too bored and a small dish with sand for them to use as grit or to play in. Just another thing to keep them from getting bored. I thought the dirt was good exposure for them as well as the sand but could it have been too soon? Do the symptoms sound like a particular disease? There's no blood in the poo but I did see a slight red color in a couple of droppings but figured it was the intestinal lining I had read about.