please help me! new mom,fox attacked kids

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lilchknhawk, Nov 14, 2014.

1. lilchknhawk

lilchknhawk New Egg

Nov 14, 2014
    I really need someones help, I founf one of my girls today dead and my dogs were then tearing at her, then I found my other RIR in the coop,but shes half eaten. my hearts broken because im new at this chicken thing and as a mother, I cant help my baby, and its killing me. i have her in a box right now by the heater cuz its cold outside,but now what do I do?? anybody? it happened last night or this morning?her skin is completely off her back, showing muscle,also a small whole,looks like organs, then also her hind end looks pretty bad,its torn up pretty bad,amd, she did eat a little bit earlier,but not sure what to do now?

2. sdm111

sdm111 Overrun With Chickens

May 21, 2013
    S. louisiana
    Welcome to the forums but sorry on such a bad note. Quite honestly I hate to day but I would suggest having someone cull her if u can't do it. With the injuries u explained I personally think it would be better for the chicken to cull than to let her the way she is. Sorry.

3. vehve

vehve The Token Finn

The damage you describe sounds pretty severe. I think you need to weigh your own feelings against the pain that the chicken is feeling, and consider culling her. It's one of the darker sides of keeping animals that no one tells you about before you get the them, but sometimes you'll have to put the animal's best interests in front of your own feelings.

Also, are you sure it was a fox? Even small dogs can take down a chicken pretty easily, especially when it's dark. I lost one of our girls to our miniature dachshund a few days ago due to my own negligence. You should check your run for possible entry points.

4. Toddrick

Toddrick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2014
    Indiana