Please help me sex these Silkies!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Flock Leader, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Flock Leader

Flock Leader Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2012
    Israel
    They hatched in our incubator about three months ago and so far, I have absolutely no clue as to their gender. I was told Silkies are sometimes tricky in this department, but I hoped that perhaps someone with more experience can enlighten me (this is my first time with Silkies).

We currently have three of these adorable puff balls:

[​IMG]
    A white one,
    [​IMG]
    A black one,

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    And one who is mostly black but with some chinchilla-like feathering, chiefly around the head and neck, I think it's simply gorgeous:
    [​IMG]
    "Stay still, and look at the camera," says my older daughter (who isn't really grabbing the tail, as it may seem, but only gently nudges the bird in the right direction). This one is spunkier than the others, by the way. A roo or just a dominant hen?
    [​IMG]
    So... what do y'all think? I tried to get a good side shot and a comb shot, but my birds weren't really very cooperative. Your opinion is much appreciated.

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Silkies are very difficult to sex. Your birds are still a little too young for me to be reasonably sure of my guesses. I'm leaning towards pullet on the white one, as I don't see any "streamers" (pointy, longer feathers coming out of the crest), and it just looks feminine. However, the stance is rather tall, and the comb is a little large. The black
    one 's crest look like that of a females (puffy and rather large), and she has a squat stance. I say that she's a pullet. The black/chinchilla colored one looks more like a male than a female, in my opinion. The crest is small and stringy. If any of your birds is a rooster, the black/chinchilla colored bird is the one.

3. bantygirl

bantygirl Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2010