1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Please help me!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by SpeckledHenFrms, Jan 24, 2013.

1. SpeckledHenFrms

SpeckledHenFrms New Egg

Jan 24, 2013
    This is my second hatch and I have kept the temperatures and humidity at the right levels and turned my eggs with an automatic turner... It seemed to me like everything was perfect but today is day 22 and still no pips!! I can hear some of the chicks peeping from time to time but not a single pip!! Helpppppp

2. Pinky Macgyver

Pinky Macgyver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2012
    I'm pretty new to this but from what I've read, it could be a couple of things and still be ok. Were your temps on the lower end? Did you store them for a while before setting? Both can make it take longer I think.

I hope everything is ok. Good luck!

2 people like this.
  3. SpeckledHenFrms

SpeckledHenFrms New Egg

Jan 24, 2013
    Thanks! I got some through the mail so that could be why they're a little late, temps may have run low... As long as my babies come out healthy!!!

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    [​IMG]

Candle the eggs to see if they pipped internally and while you are at it, mark the shell where the air sac is with a pencil, so you know where the chicks are. If you don't see any internal pips hold them against your ear and tap them. They'll respond by squirming if they're alive in there. They may need help to hatch, so I want you to sit down and read this article carefully before you do anything, O.K? This article will tell you exactly what to do and what to look for:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/step-by-step-guide-to-assisted-hatching

Best of luck and let us know how the hatch goes!

1 person likes this.
  5. Sally Sunshine