Please help my broody hen

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Chelsea-85, Feb 14, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Chelsea-85

Chelsea-85 Songster

Dec 24, 2018
    Kurdistan
    Dears all,

This is my first time I have a broody pullet that is young and seems inexperienced. After I was sure that she is broody, I put 9 eggs under her 6 days ago. She does not leave the eggs but she has the following problems:

1- Yesterday, when she came out for few minutes, I saw two eggs BROKEN under her. I cleaned the bedding completely while she was eating. What is the cause of the broken eggs? Do you think she intentionally broke them? Or it was an accident? I am concerned about it.
    2-Two days ago, when I checked her, I saw 5 eggs not under her. I touched them, they were cold and put them back under her; she accepted them again. (Is there any chance for those 4 eggs to survive? I don't know how long they were not under her though)
    3- She has pooped over the eggs. I found the eggs all poopy. Will they be hatched? Or poopy eggs will fail? Should I clean the eggs or leave them as they are?
    4- Since she pooped while sitting, her butt is poopy as well. Yesterday I cleaned her and dried her completely before she went back to the eggs. Did I do the right thing by cleaning her?

Thank you in advance for your help

Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  2. Chelsea-85

Chelsea-85 Songster

Dec 24, 2018
    Kurdistan
    Any help please?

ButtonquailGirl14 likes this.
  3. Ribh

Ribh Songster

Sorry I can't help. You may need to wait for the time difference to catch up & the more experienced broody hatchers to arrive. thinks she's fine but I've never hatched eggs. :)

Chelsea-85 likes this.
  4. Brahmachicken240

Brahmachicken240 Free Ranging

Dec 26, 2018
    Ireland
    1) broken eggs were most likely an accident, she probably stepped on them when trying to get out.

2) depends on how long they were out from under her.
    I’d say they’d be fine.