*PLEASE HELP my chicken is very sick*

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bite the dust, Apr 16, 2017.

1. bite the dust

bite the dust New Egg

Apr 16, 2017
    Hello all,
    I am new to raising chickens I've had them for about 6 months now and they just started laying we've had 0 complications the best pet ever until now.
    3 days ago I noticed something was up with my Delaware "whitey" she was limping something was wrong with her right leg. I inspected and there were no wounds, no swelling, she didn't seem in any kind of pain while I was handling her, she just refused to use it. So I segregated her and noticed her poop was the consistency and color of milk, no kind of texture at all. I gave her a warm bath and some calcium spiked water. This was about 3 days ago.
    Now it seems as though she has lost movement in both her legs, she won't move them at all. She keeps them ticked underneath her toes curled in. Her stool is still milky white with some broken down food now. And just today started panting a lot. She is eating and drinking, her comb looks good, crop feels good. but I'm very concerned and don't know what else to do, and still can't find the source of the problem.
    Please help she is my 4 year olds favorite [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Can you start her on some poultry vitamins in their water, or give her PolyVisol no iron baby vitamins 3 drops by mouth daily? She could have a vitamin deficiency, but Mareks disease could be another possibility. Do you know if she was vaccinated for mareks? Since she is lame, I would make sure that she is close to her food and water. mareks can cause small tumor on the nerves and other organs in the body. Early signs can include weakness or paralysis in one or both legs or wings. It can also can skin problems, tumors anywhere in the body,and eye changess that lead to blindness.

3. Eggcessive

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio