Please help! My pet chickens are dying!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lorimerj, Jan 9, 2017.

1. lorimerj

lorimerj New Egg

Jan 9, 2017
    I am new to any chicken forums. We have had chickens for about 5 years and had an animal kill off some of our chickens, but I have never had any die from what I think is some kind of sickness. A couple of weeks ago I noticed one of our 5 Comet chickens was losing her feathers. I figured maybe she was molting. Another one of the chickens sat pretty still in the Sun, but when I went to check on her she rambled around fine. They all were eating and acting normally. I went away for the last week while my family took care of the animals. While I was away 3 out of 5 of my Comets died and I have one currently that I am keeping in the house that looks like the one that I thought was molting. Currently, all the other chickens look and act fine, even the one Comet that is not in the house. One of the 3 that died was eaten by a raccoon (I assume), but I do not know if it was sick before that. One that died right before I came home they brought in the house. It did not want to eat and died later that day. That one did not look like it was molting. Is there anything I can do to help save this chicken? Should I be contacting someone to rule out some strange disease? What can I do to help them?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. MasterOfClucker

MasterOfClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2016
    Iowa
    Check for lice/mites.Check under wings and around the vent area.Also what are you feeding them?,I see in the pic you are feeding them scratch which has little to no protein.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio