PLease HELP!! Pullet w/hole in her...possible rat attack??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by BaGAWK!!, Dec 8, 2011.

1. BaGAWK!!

BaGAWK!! Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2011
    Philadelphia, TN
    OH NO!!!! I just got home tonight from work to a pullet with a hole in her, very near where her crop should be. She has no idea she has an injury, she is ready to eat and very alert, normal in every way, except that she has been limping and losing balance for a few weeks now. I suspect it was a rat attack, I caught a rat in my live trap either last night or tonight, I;m not sure since I leave for work very early and didn't check it before I left. Will rats eat a crop of a chicken?? If so, that is so wrong, WHAT DO I DO? I am fully prepared to perform surgery, I have sutures and most everything I might need, I'm a vet assistant.

How do I know if it's her crop? How serious is this if it is? Can it be stitched up and she can eat again? Can I feed or water her to see if it's her crop, like will it fall out through the hole so I'll be able to tell? This is so terrible, I've had to keep them locked up in their coop b/c of a hawk killing my birds, how I can't even let them be safe in their coop b/c a rat is eating them alive???

Following are pics, sorry they are graphic but I didn't know what other way to explain it. I guess I"ll try...it simply looks like a hole in her skin. There is no organ visible, no edges of an organ visible, however how do I know, I don't know what a crop looks like from the inside! It just looks like a hole in the skin exposing muscle. There is no pathway leading anywhere....the skin is attached to the layer underneath it. In other words, I do not see the esophagus emptying into the hole.