Please help! Raising baby chicks NOW in a cold climate!

Cottage Rose

Crowing
12 Years
Jun 24, 2008
Mid west Michigan
I've been raising chickens for 30 years.
Never thought I'd see the day when I would hatch out chicks in November in a cold northern climate...but when I got the chance to get some Marans hatching eggs from Bev Davis I couldn't refuse.
jumpy.gif

So now the reality of raising baby chicks during the dead of winter has got me wondering...what was I thinking?!?
hmm.png

They're already making the laundryroom pretty stinky and will soon outgrow their Rubbermaid tub brooder and need to be moved outside. I have a garden potting shed that I can move them to which I plan to insulate but
will heat lamps provide enough heat when it gets below zero or will I need to use some kind of outdoors space heater?
On sunny days I plan to let them out when they are bigger but what kind of winter temps can they tolerate?

Does anybody know how much heat they will need after they feather out?
Will the lack of sunshine adversely effect their developement?
Any tips or advise appreciated.

I really like Ruth's approach to chick-rearing and she raises them outside in all weather.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=36944

I have 8 chicks outside right now. My broodies sat on them outside and they're raising them outside. I don't have electricity in my barn, so they don't have a heat lamp on them, either. Their mama keeps them warm enough.

I don't know how cold your climate gets, but I think they'd be okay in an outdoor building with a heat lamp. Do you have a way to keep the drafts off of them?

Keep in mind Ruth is way down south in MS and has short periods of cold weather. You can't do the same thing in December in Michigan.

Yup, we can have very cold to sub-zero temps (to -25 degrees) now through March/April!
After those kind of temps when we get a day when it gets up to 40º we start wearing our tank tops and shorts outside and think its warm!