PLEASE HELP!!! Rooster just staying where left, head down to the floor!!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by new2green, Dec 5, 2013.

1. new2green

new2green Out Of The Brooder

Nov 16, 2013
    I am very new to raising chickens as well as in this forum. I adopted a rooster, two chickens and a few one week chicks from the pound and I enjoy them so much!!.
    I work every day and only get home by 7pm. I am in Florida, so it's nice and warm and they are OK until I take them to the coop. But I keep the chicks separate (I was told it has to be so until they are 8 weeks old) so the big ones go out during the day to free range.
    Yesterday my rooster was just sitting on the floor, I thought he was sleeping. I put him in the coop and he did not move, not even to go to his perch, I thought he was sleeping.
    This morning my husband let them out and mentioned Henry was asleep again, he had to take him out of the coop, he just sat on the floor. But when I got home at night, I noticed he is clearly sick. He is wheezing, making bubbling noises and won't move. I took him from the coop so the others won't get sick and brought him inside the house.
    His head is down to the floor and he won't move.
    it's night, I don't know what to do, PLEASE HELP ME!!!! Thank you

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    It sounds like he could have caught a respiratory disease, as wheezing and gurgling are two common symptoms. Is he unable to lift his head, or is he just weak and doesn't want to lift it?