please help-silkie chick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by littlestars17, Apr 1, 2011.

1. littlestars17

littlestars17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    have been giving poly vi sol for curled toes and had a boot on her, its been off for 2 days,shes been fine. She is smaller than her hatchmates..today i noticed it looked like she fell in the water(side of her was wet) and shes cheeping nonstop,dried her off put her back in and she did a couple sumersaults,then looked like she tucked her neck into her belly area and just keeps cheeping..what is wrong?? worried:(

2. littlestars17

Apr 9, 2010
    could this be wry neck even if I was already giving poly vi sol(since tuesday)-jusxt started today and appreciate any advice please!

3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    I am not an expert but it sounds like your hen may have wry neck. There are lots of forum entries under Wry Neck so read a few and see if the symptoms sound correct. If that's what it is, you need to give those liquid baby vitamins (Poly Visol without iron) with a dropper, as well as squeeze some vitamin e down her throat. My RIR got this when she was just days old - she ran backwards with her head tucked between her legs, sometimes somersaulting backwards. Someone on the forum diagnosed the problem and I adminstered the liquid vitamins and vitamin e for about 5 days before she recovered. My chick wasn't eating either because she couldn't get her head to the food so I also gave egg yolk by dropper every few hours. Good luck.

This sounds like just what you discribed about your chick, this came from the BYC archives.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
  4. littlestars17

Apr 9, 2010