Please Help the Newbie!!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by French Hen, Mar 19, 2012.

1. French Hen

French Hen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2012
    Cloud 9
    Hello.... I'm a complete Newbie... I've decided to go with fertilized eggs instead of chicks so that my children can witness the hatching process... oh, ok, so I can too!! :) Now I can't decide on what incubator to get!!
    It seems that a forced air, automatic turning incubator is the way to go for the best success, and I want the best success since I'll just cry for every lost egg!!
    I am also going with eggs from breeders instead of hatcheries since I am a fan of people knowing their individual birds and their temperament/personality, plus I like to support small scale farmers/breeders/etc. Also I'm all for furthering the breed standard... mostly I'm unsure of the quality of chicken I'd get from a hatchery, although I'm sure they'd suit my purposes just fine (egg laying)

Ok.... I'm leaning toward the Hova Incubator with the big window for easiest viewing with minimal opening and touching.... BUT I HATE that it is made out of styrofoam... seems like it could easily get destroyed with kids around... also wouldn't that be a pain in the butt to clean and sterilize??

Anyone have any recommendations? I'm not looking to spend over $200 but I'd like something that would incubate somewhere around 20 eggs at least.

Thanks in advance!!!

2. loanwizard

loanwizard Chillin' With My Peeps

Any of the Styrofoam ones are decent. I got mine off of Craigslist. Kids just have to know that eggs, especially eggs with life in them are extremely fragile.

Don't cry if an egg doesn't hatch. It happens. In fact you rarely get 100% even if conditions are optimal.

Good Luck and Welcome!

Shawn

3. French Hen

Mar 19, 2012
    Cloud 9